OREGON EARLY LEARNING COUNCIL



PAM CURTIS ELC Chair

HARRIET ADAIR

VIKKI BISHOP

JANET DOUGHERTY- SMITH

DANA HARGUNANI

CHARLES McGEE

EVA RIPPETEAU

CHRISTA RUDE

LYNNE SAXTON

NORM SMITH

TERI THALHOFER

JIM TIERNEY

ROBERTA WEBER

KIM WILLIAMS

DICK WITHNELL

MARLENE YESQUEN

ROB SAXTON

JADA RUPLEY Early Learning System Director

The Lynne Angland Award: Honoring contributions to Oregon's Child Care & Early Education System

Lynne Angland was a passionate visionary dedicated to Oregon's families. She was Vice-Chair of the Commission for Child Care from 2004 to 2008, when her untimely death left a void that only her diligent advocacy could have filled. Lynne's service, passion, and leadership improved the lives of Oregon's children and families, and as a former owner of a child care center – opened to benefit her employees – Lynne personally understood that quality child care is dynamic as a workforce and early childhood education issue.

Honoring Lynne's commitment to strengthening Oregon's next generation, and the Commission for Childcare which established the Lynne Angland Award, the Early Learning Council continues Lynne's charge through honoring those contributing to improving child care and the lives of our children.

The Lynne Angland Award recognizes people and organizations who improve safety, quality, affordability, and access to child care at state and local levels. An annual award, it both memorializes Lynne and spotlights the incredible ongoing work dedicated to improving care.

To submit your nomination – a person, facility, or organization – please submit a 250-word essay to the Early Learning Council explaining the attached criteria. Deadline for submission is 5pm, May 1, 2014. The recipient will be announced at the May 22nd Early Learning Council meeting in Pendleton.

OREGON EARLY LEARNING COUNCIL



PAM CURTIS ELC Chair

HARRIET ADAIR

VIKKI BISHOP

JANET DOUGHERTY- SMITH

DANA HARGUNANI

CHARLES McGEE

EVA RIPPETEAU

CHRISTA RUDE

LYNNE SAXTON

NORM SMITH

TERI THALHOFER

JIM TIERNEY

ROBERTA WEBER

KIM WILLIAMS

DICK WITHNELL

MARLENE YESQUEN

ROB SAXTON

JADA RUPLEY Early Learning System Director

The Lynne Angland Award: Honoring contributions to Oregon's Child Care & Early Education System

Nomination Form

Name of individual/organization nominated:

Address/County:

Contact Phone:

We may need to contact you if we have any questions during the review process. Please also provide the following:

Your Name:

Address (include city and state):

Zip code:

Contact Phone:

What is your relationship with the individual/organization you have nominated?

Make your nomination by answering the following questions in 250 words or less. (Please answer on a separate sheet of paper)

- 1. What service has the individual/organization provided?
- 2. How has their commitment and dedication made a difference to Oregon children and families?
- 3. How long has the person/organization been involved with childcare and in what capacity?
- 4. Please include any other information you would like us to consider.

Please submit your completed information by 5pm, May 1st, 2014

Early Learning Council Lynne Angland Award 775 Summer Street NE Salem, OR 97301

Or by Email: EarlyLearning.OEIB@state.or.us