Forward Arrow Backward Arrow

Kindergarten Ready

head start

Early Learning Standards

Oregon adopted the Head Start Early Learning Outcomes Framework: Ages Birth to Five as its early learning standards for child development. The outcomes or standards describe the skills, behaviors, and knowledge of infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. It does this by focusing on five central developmental domains:

  • Approaches to Learning
  • Social and Emotional Development
  • Language and Literacy
  • Cognition
  • Perception, Motor and Physical Development

All standards are grounded in comprehensive research around what young children should know and be able to do during their early years in order to be successful in school and in life. States and many organizations have developed similar early learning standards as part of their support for early learning professionals to bring appropriate child development experiences to children in their programs.

The Head Start Early Learning Outcomes Framework: Ages Birth to Five is available for download in English and Spanish on the Head Start website. Another way to learn more about the Framework is to explore the interactive version.