OREGON EARLY LEARNING DIVISION

Home » Core Initiatives » Healthy Families Oregon

Healthy Families Oregon

healthy families oregon …because babies don’t come with instructions.

Parenting is one of the most important and rewarding jobs a person will ever do…and one of the most challenging. Parents in Oregon are invited to receive Healthy Families “Welcome Baby” services.

Participation in Healthy Families Oregon (HFO) is a voluntary and free family support and parent education home visiting program. HFO focuses on strengthening the parent-child relationship to assure healthy child growth and development. Home visitors support parents in cultivating and strengthening a nurturing, positive relationship with their baby at each visit. Parents receive information on topics like child development, infant care and keeping their baby healthy, and learn what is going on in their communities to support new families. Many families are eligible for home visits with a trained home visitor, who coach them as they build their skills as parents and help their baby be safe, healthy and learn.

Healthy Families Oregon is an accredited multi-site state system with Healthy Families America (HFA) and Oregon’s largest child abuse prevention program. HFA was rated in 2010 as meeting the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services criteria for evidence-based home visiting models and shown reductions in child maltreatment and increases in children’s readiness for school. Research shows that the quality of the relationship between a parent and their child is critical for the health, well-being, and later life success of infants, thus Healthy Families empowers parents to be their child’s best teacher from the very start!

Healthy Families is Oregon’s largest child abuse prevention program.  In 2014-2015, the program provided information and referral services to 7,700 Oregon families, and intensive home visiting to more than 2,500 of our most vulnerable families. Healthy Families has shown that it works to reduce child maltreatment and increase children’s readiness for school. More about program results can be found in the Statewide Evaluation Summary and 2014-15 Data Tables, both prepared by NPC Research.

A securely attached baby leads to a curious toddler, which leads to a kindergartner ready for school and beyond. For the best for your baby, call your local Healthy Families Oregon program today:

County (ies) Program Manager Email Phone
Benton & Linn Medora Tuck-Stevens medora_stevens@oldmillcenter.org 541-757-8068 xt 117
Clackamas Beth Kersens bkersens@healthyfamiliescc.org 503-546-6533
Clatsop & Columbia Sunday Kamppi skamppi@nworheadstart.org 503-366-6556
Coos & Curry Michelle Hanna michelle.hanna@socc.edu
Deschutes, Jefferson & Crook Lori Colvin lori.colvin@hdesd.org 541-749-2138
Douglas, Klamath & Lake Carlos Gomez carlos.gomez@ucancap.org 541-440-3612
Grant & Harney Teresa Aasness ffedta@gmail.com 541-575-1006
Frontier Healthy Families
Hoodriver, Wasco, Sherman, Wheeler & Gilliam Counties Grace Parson gracep@nextdoorinc.org 541-436-0320
Four Rivers Healthy Families
Josephine & Jackson Jacque Doney jdoney@siskiyouhealthcenter.com 541-471-3455 xt 1143
Healthy Families of Southern Oregon
Lane Sarah Closser Sarah.closser@co.lane.or.us 541-682-7425
Lincoln There will be no HFO services in Lincoln County from 10/1/16 – 3/31/17
Marion & Polk Marguerite Kenagy mkenagy@familybuildingblocks.org 503-990-7431 xt 112
Multnomah Lizzie Fussell lizzie.fussell@multco.us 503-988-3387 xt 88097
Tillamook Stacy Lorette slorette@careinc.org 503-842-2773
Umatilla, Union, Morrow Jessica Britt jbritt@umchs.org 541-667-6167
Blue Mountain Healthy Families
Wallowa, Baker, Malhuer Julie Rogers jrogers@oregonbhf.org 541-426-9411
Eastern Oregon Healthy Families
Washington Beth Dasher bdasher@caowash.org 503-517-8395
Yamhill Cara Copeland ccopeland@lcsnw.org 503-472-4020 xt 214


All other questions or inquires can be directed to:

Erin Deahn  
Healthy Families Oregon Statewide Coordinator
503.378.6768 or erin.deahn@state.or.us

Elisabeth Underwood
Healthy Families Oregon Home Visiting Specialist
503.373.1650 or Elisabeth.Underwood@ode.state.or.us


CURRENT Healthy Families Oregon JOB OPENINGS:

Program Manager Positions:
There are currently no Program Manager positions open at this time.

Home Visitor Positions:
1. Home Visitor position in Douglas County:  CLICK HERE
2. Home Visitor Position in Union County: CLICK HERE (job description) and CLICK HERE (application).
3. Home Visitor Position(s) in Washington County: CLICK HERE
4. Home Visitor Position in Lane County: CLICK HERE
5. Home Visitor Position in Multnomah County-Impact CLICK HERE
6. Home Visitor Position in Clackamas CLICK HERE

Supervisor Positions:
1. Supervisor/Home Visitor position at Blue Mountain Healthy Families (serving Umatilla, Union & Morrow Counties). CLICK HERE (job description) and CLICK HERE  (application).
2. Supervisor Position in Washington County: CLICK HERE

%d bloggers like this: