OREGON EARLY LEARNING DIVISION

Home » Core Initiatives » Healthy Families Oregon

Healthy Families Oregon

healthy families oregon…because babies don’t come with instructions.

Parenting is one of the most important and rewarding jobs a person will ever do…and one of the most challenging. Parents in Oregon are invited to receive Healthy Families “Welcome Baby” services.

Participation in Healthy Families Oregon (HFO) is a voluntary and free family support and parent education home visiting program. HFO focuses on strengthening the parent-child relationship to assure healthy child growth and development. Home visitors support parents in cultivating and strengthening a nurturing, positive relationship with their baby at each visit. Parents receive information on topics like child development, infant care and keeping their baby healthy, and learn what is going on in their communities to support new families. Many families are eligible for home visits with a trained home visitor, who coach them as they build their skills as parents and help their baby be safe, healthy and learn.

Healthy Families Oregon is an accredited multi-site state system with Healthy Families America (HFA) and Oregon’s largest child abuse prevention program. HFA was rated in 2010 as meeting the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services criteria for evidence-based home visiting models and shown reductions in child maltreatment and increases in children’s readiness for school. Research shows that the quality of the relationship between a parent and their child is critical for the health, well-being, and later life success of infants, thus Healthy Families empowers parents to be their child’s best teacher from the very start!

Healthy Families is Oregon’s largest child abuse prevention program.  In 2014-2015, the program provided information and referral services to 7,700 Oregon families, and intensive home visiting to more than 2,500 of our most vulnerable families. Healthy Families has shown that it works to reduce child maltreatment and increase children’s readiness for school. More about program results can be found in the Statewide Evaluation Summary and 2014-15 Data Tables, both prepared by NPC Research.

A securely attached baby leads to a curious toddler, which leads to a kindergartner ready for school and beyond. For the best for your baby, call your local Healthy Families Oregon program today:

 

County (ies) Program Manager Email Phone
Benton & Linn Medora Tuck-Stevens medora_stevens@oldmillcenter.org 541-757-8068 xt 117
Clackamas Beth Kersens bkersens@healthyfamiliescc.org 503-546-6533
Clatsop & Columbia Sunday Kamppi skamppi@nworheadstart.org 503-366-6556
Coos & Curry Michelle Hanna michelle.hanna@socc.edu
Deschutes, Jefferson & Crook Lori Colvin lori.colvin@hdesd.org 541-749-2138
Douglas Karin Hardin karin.hardin@ucancap.org 541-672-5392 xt 4501
Grant & Harney

Frontier Healthy Families

Teresa Aasness ffedta@gmail.com 541-575-1006
Hoodriver, Wasco, Sherman, Wheeler & Gilliam Counties

Four Rivers Healthy Families

Grace Parsons gracep@nextdoorinc.org 541-436-0320
Josephine & Jackson

Healthy Families of Southern Oregon

Jacque Doney jdoney@siskiyouhealthcenter.com 541-471-3455 xt 1143
Klamath Carol Coker ccoker@kbbh.org 541-883-1030
Lane Sarah Closser Sarah.closser@co.lane.or.us 541-682-7425
Lincoln Nicole Fields nfields@co.lincoln.or.us 541.265.0405
Marion & Polk Marguerite Kenagy mkenagy@familybuildingblocks.org 503-990-7431 xt 112
Multnomah Lizzie Fussell lizzie.fussell@multco.us 503-988-3387 xt 88097
Tillamook Stacy Lorette slorette@careinc.org 503-842-2773
Umatilla, Union, Morrow

Blue Mountain Healthy Families

Jessica Britt jbritt@umchs.org 541-667-6167
Wallowa, Baker, Malhuer

Eastern Oregon Healthy Families

Julie Rogers jrogers@oregonbhf.org 541-426-9411
Washington Beth Dasher bdasher@caowash.org 503-517-8395
Yamhill Cara Copeland ccopeland@lcsnw.org 503-472-4020 xt 214

All other questions or inquires can be directed to:

Erin Deahn
Healthy Families Oregon Statewide Coordinator
503.378.6768 or erin.deahn@state.or.us


CURRENT Healthy Families Oregon JOB OPENINGS:

Program Manager Positions: 
1. Regional Program Manager for Healthy Families of Douglas, Klamath & Lake Counties: CLICK HERE

Home Visitor Positions:
1. Home Visitor position in Linn & Benton Counties at Old Mill Center: CLICK HERE
2. Home Visitor position in Douglas County:  CLICK HERE
3. Home Visitor position in Lincoln County: CLICK HERE
4. Home Visitor position in Multnomah County: CLICK HERE
5. Home Visitor Position in Lane County: CLICK HERE
6. Home Visitor Position in Union County: CLICK HERE (job description) and CLICK HERE (application).

Supervisor Positions:
1. Supervisor/Home Visitor position at Blue Mountain Healthy Families (serving Umatilla, Union & Morrow Counties). CLICK HERE (job description) and CLICK HERE  (application).
2. Supervisor Position in Washington County: CLICK HERE

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

%d bloggers like this: