Forward Arrow Backward Arrow

Lynne Angland Award

The Lynne Angland Award: Honoring contributions to Oregon’s Child Care & Early Education System

Lynne Angland was a passionate visionary dedicated to Oregon’s families. She was Vice-Chair of the Commission for Child Care from 2004 to 2008, when her untimely death left a void that only her diligent advocacy could have filled. Lynne’s service, passion, and leadership improved the lives of Oregon’s children and families, and as a former owner of a child care center – opened to benefit her employees – Lynne personally understood that quality child care is dynamic as a workforce and early childhood education issue.

Honoring Lynne’s commitment to strengthening Oregon’s next generation, and the Commission for Childcare which established the Lynne Angland Award, the Early Learning Council continues Lynne’s charge through honoring those contributing to improving child care and the lives of our children.

The Lynne Angland Award recognizes people and organizations who improve safety, quality, affordability, and access to child care at state and local levels. An annual award, it both memorializes Lynne and spotlights the incredible ongoing work dedicated to improving care.

Past Awards

2019 Due to a transition in the structure of the Early Learning Council, no award was given in 2019.

Debra Gray, Adelante Mujeres

 Laurie Potts, Southwestern Partnership Family Center in Coos Bay
2017 Lynn Anderson, Siuslaw School District

2016 Providers of Promesa Preescolar Red and Jill Ramirez, Quality Improvement Specialist with the Southern Oregon ESD
2016 Tom Udell, Director of the Center on Early Learning at the Research Institute at Western Oregon University (TRI)

2015 Merrily Haas, Executive Director, Oregon Association for the Education of Young Children
2015 Judy Graves, Founding Director of Opal School of the Portland Children’s Museum and Museum Center for Learning

2014 Cathy Wamsley, Umatilla-Morrow Head Start Director
Tina Kotek, Speaker of the House

2013 Roberta Recken, Project Coordinator at Oregon Association for the Education of Young Children and former Fruit and Flower Child Care Center Director

2011 – 2012 Kitty Piercy, Mayor of Eugene, Commissioner – Oregon Commission for Child Care
2011 – 2012 Ingrid Amerson, Director Teaching Research Child Development Center at Western Oregon University

2010 Bobbie Webber, Oregon Research Partnership at OSU
2010 Betty Kamikawa, Chair – Newport Child Care Committee, President – Lincoln County Association for Family and Community Eduction (FCE)

2009 Tom Olsen, Child Care Division Administrator