Forward Arrow Backward Arrow


Early Learning Council Announces Eight Additional Early Learning Hubs
Early Learning Council Announces Eight Additional Early Learning Hubs

(Portland, OR)- Oregon’s Early Learning Council is moving toward establishing more early learning hubs across Oregon. Today the Early Learning Council announced eight applicants who will begin the process to become full-fledged hubs coordinating early education and family support services help to children and families.

“Our learning hub model will expand across Oregon so that more children and their families have access to a comprehensive set of education and social services,” said Jada Rupley, Early Learning System Director. “Hubs allow communities to tailor resources and collaborate to better prepare our young Oregonians for school success.”

Early Learning Hubs bring together a community’s childcare, health and education efforts to focus on supporting children and their families. This coordinated approach allows for each of the sectors to be more cohesive in preparing children, particularly the most vulnerable, to be successful in kindergarten and beyond.

The eight early learning hubs and their respective counties are:
Blue Mountain Early Learning Hub
(Umatilla, Morrow, Union)
Clackamas County Early Learning Hub
Eastern Oregon Community Services Hub
(Malheur, Wallowa, Baker)
Linn Benton Lincoln Early Learning Hub
North West Regional Early Learning Council 
(Columbia, Clatsop, Tillamook)
Southern Oregon Early Learning Services Hub 
(Jackson, Josephine)
Washington County Early Learning Hub
Wellness and Education Board of Central Oregon 
(Crook, Jefferson, Deschutes)

The Early Learning Division will provide support to the selected hubs as they finalize their plans and enter into contracts with the state.

The eight new hubs join six existing early learning hubs created to coordinate early learning services for Oregon’s at-risk children and families. The existing hubs serve the communities of Douglas, Harney, Grant, Lake, Lane, Marion, Multnomah and Yamhill counties.

Hubs, which focus on early childhood education, are part of the state’s 40-40-20 goal to build a seamless system of education from birth to college and career. The goal calls for 40 percent of students to receive a bachelor’s degree or higher; 40 percent of students to receive an associate’s degree or certificate; and the remaining 20 percent to earn a high school diploma.

The Oregon Legislature passed a statute to create hubs in July 2013. The first set of hubs were announced in November.

Oregon’s Early Learning Council is charged with improving kindergarten readiness and family stability, while making sure multiple systems are more coordinated and aligned to most effectively support families.