Forward Arrow Backward Arrow

About Us

Meet the Director

Alyssa Chatterjee

Early Learning System Director

Alyssa Chatterjee is Oregon’s fifth Early Learning System Director. She has focused on early learning policy throughout her time working for the State of Oregon beginning in 2012. Prior to her appointment as the Early Learning System Director in 2021, Alyssa served as Governor Kate Brown’s deputy education policy advisor. In addition to advising on early learning policy, Alyssa supported the Governor’s Children’s Cabinet, served as co-convener of the Governor’s Racial Justice Council, and continues to support the work of the Council’s Education Recovery Committee.

Alyssa was among the first employees at the Early Learning Division (ELD), when it was formally created. She served in a variety of roles at ELD engaged in policy and planning, including as a policy advisor and legislative coordinator for the agency. As a member of ELD’s executive team, she helped guide the state’s early learning strategic planning process for the five-year statewide early learning system plan, Raise Up Oregon. She is excited to support the continued evolution of early learning in Oregon as the Early Learning Division becomes the Department of Early Learning and Care.

Executive Team

Serena Stoudamire, Deputy Director and Programs Director
Vacant as of 12/4/21, Chief Operations Officer
Alicia Gardiner,  Office of Child Care Director
Dr. Nasreen Khan, Chief of Staff
David Mandell, Chief of Policy and Research
Valeria Atanacio, Tribal Affairs Director
Heather Thomas, Human Resources Director
Jared Choc, Chief Information Officer

 

Office of Child Care Manager List

(as of December 12, 2022)

Name, Title Area of Oversight Phone Email
Hope Hicks,
Background Registry Manager
Central Background Registry 503-779-8665 Hope.Hicks@ode.oregon.gov
Hope Hicks, Interim Intake and Customer Service Manager Application Intake Customer Service 503-779-8665 Hope.Hicks@ode.oregon.gov
Mary McCord, Investigations Manager Investigations 503-480-6193 Mary.McCord@ode.oregon.gov
Katrina Gannon-Peterson, Compliance Manager Program Compliance and Complaints 503-983-0091 Katrina.Gannon-Peterson@ode.oregon.gov
Meg Kirschnick,
Enforcement Officer
Legal Actions 503-983-3301 Meg.Kirschnick@ode.oregon.gov
Joshua Williams, 
Legal and Enforcement Director
Legal Actions and Enforcement Investigations 503-947-1407 Josh.Williams@ode.oregon.gov
Miriam Cecilia,
Field Operations Director
Investigations Oversight 971-701-1526 Miriam.Cecilia@ode.oregon.gov
Linda Wimberly,
Regional Manager
Central and Eastern Oregon 971-428-7563 Linda.Wimberly@ode.oregon.gov
Crystal Persi,
Regional Manager
Lane, Douglas, Coos, Curry, Josephine, Jackson, Klamath, Lake 541-510-1975 Crystal.Persi@ode.oregon.gov
Jennie Sowder,
Regional Manager
North Portland, Clackamas, Columbia, Multnomah 971-413-1796 Jennie.Sowder@ode.oregon.gov
Kristina Christian,
Regional Manager
Washington County, North Coast, Lake Oswego, Wilsonville 971-707-8641 Kristina.Christian@ode.oregon.gov
Kathryn Miller,
Regional Manager
East Portland, Hood River/The Dalles and East Clackamas County 503-806-1000 Kathryn.A.Miller@ode.oregon.gov
Karey Hudspeth,
Regional Manager
Marion, Polk, Yamhill, Lincoln, Linn, Benton Counties 971-382-2078 Karey.Hudspeth@ode.oregon.gov