Forward Arrow Backward Arrow

About Us

Meet the Director

Alyssa Chatterjee
Early Learning System Director

Alyssa Chatterjee is Oregon’s fifth Early Learning System Director. She has focused on early learning policy throughout her time working for the State of Oregon beginning in 2012. Prior to her appointment as the Early Learning System Director in 2021, Alyssa served as Governor Kate Brown’s deputy education policy advisor. In addition to advising on early learning policy, Alyssa supported the Governor’s Children’s Cabinet, served as co-convener of the Governor’s Racial Justice Council, and continues to support the work of the Council’s Education Recovery Committee.

Alyssa was among the first employees at the Early Learning Division (ELD), when it was formally created. She served in a variety of roles at ELD engaged in policy and planning, including as a policy advisor and legislative coordinator for the agency. As a member of ELD’s executive team, she helped guide the state’s early learning strategic planning process for the five-year statewide early learning system plan, Raise Up Oregon. She is excited to support the continued evolution of early learning in Oregon as the Early Learning Division becomes the Department of Early Learning and Care.

Executive Team

Jenny Cribbs Chief Operations Officer
Dr. Nasreen Khan Chief of Staff & Interim OCC Director
David Mandell Policy and Research Director

Office of Child Care Manager List

(As of August 17, 2021)

Name, Title Area of Oversight Phone Email
Hope Hicks,
Background Manager
Central Background Registry 971-719-0131 Hope.Hicks@state.or.us
Sam Garcia,
Intake and Customer Service Manager
Application Intake and Customer Service 503-947-0663

 

Samuel.Garcia@state.or.us
Jennifer Mason, Investigations Manager Investigations 503-947-0637 Jennifer.Mason@state.or.us
Katrina Gannon-Peterson, Compliance Manager Program Compliance and Complaints 503-947-1933 Katrina.Gannon-Peterson@state.or.us
Meg Kirschnick,
Enforcement Officer
Legal Actions 503-947-0635 Meg.Kirschnick@state.or.us
Jay Messenger,
Legal and Enforcement Director
Enforcement 503-947-1417 Jay.Messenger@state.or.us
Alicia Gardiner,
Interim Field Operations Director
Licensing 503-612-4270 alicia.gardiner@ode.state.or.us
Miriam Cecilia,
Regional Licensing Manager
Central and Eastern Oregon 541-641-6463 Miriam.Cecilia@state.or.us
Crystal Persi,
Regional Licensing Manager
Southern Oregon and Eugene 541-510-1975 Crystal.Persi@state.or.us
Abby Strom,
Regional Licensing Manager
North and West Portland, Columbia County, Milwaukie, Gladstone, West Linn 503-731-4529 Abby.Strom@state.or.us
Alicia Gardiner,
Regional Licensing Manager
Washington County, North Coast, Lake Oswego, Wilsonville 503-731-3300 Alicia.Gardiner@state.or.us
Kathryn Miller,
Regional Licensing Manager
East Portland, Hood River/The Dalles and East Clackamas County 503-731-3120 Kathryn.A.Miller@state.or.us
VACANT,
Regional Licensing Manager
Marion, Polk, Yamhill, Lincoln, Linn, Benton Counties VACANT, TBD VACANT, TBD